1. Home
  2. /
  3. Uncategorized
  4. /
  5. European Natura 2000 Awards...

The European Natura 2000 Award rewards excellence in the management of Natura 2000 sites across the European Union. Natura 2000 is a network of sites selected to ensure the long-term survival of Europe’s most valuable and threatened species and habitats. 

The award recognises good practices at Natura 2000 sites under five different categories:

  1. Conservation on land
  2. Marine conservation
  3. Communication
  4. Socio-economic benefits
  5. Cross-border cooperation.

Applications for the 2022 Natura 2000 Awards are now open and can be submitted until 30th September 2021. Anyone directly involved in Natura 2000 – business, authorities, NGOs, volunteers, landowners, educational institutions, or individuals – can apply for the award. For more information on how to apply, click here.

Source: European Commission